Skip to main content
Home > Advising & Policy > Advising

Advising

Advising at UW-Madison is a partnership between you and the network of advisors you build during your time here. It can be one of the most valuable resources available to you as a student. Advisors are here to introduce you to opportunities and help you make good decisions. Learn more: Advising at UW-Madison

Who should I talk to?

If you have questions related to a specific language program or a language major or certificate, you should meet with the advisor for that language. Language department advisors can help you with choose courses and identify academic and other opportunities related to your language.

If you're not sure which language you want to learn, or if you have multiple language interests, you should meet with the International Directions Advisor, Michael Kruse, who provides academic and career advising for any undergraduate student interested in languages and international area studies.

You’ll also have an assigned academic advisor, depending on your School, College, or major department. You should be in regular contact with your assigned advisor during your entire time at UW-Madison.

Title Advising
Arabic

Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu

Burmese

Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu

Chinese

Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu

Czech

David Danaher, dsdanaher@wisc.edu

Danish

Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu

Dutch

Jolanda Vanderwal Taylor, jvtaylor@wisc.edu

Filipino

Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu

Finnish

Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu

French

Andrew Irving, frit.wisc.edu/undergraduate/french/academic_advising

Ewa Miernowska, frit.wisc.edu/undergraduate/french/academic_advising

German

Mark Louden, mllouden@wisc.edu

Greek (Ancient)

Grant Nelsestuen, nelsestuen@wisc.edu

Hausa

Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu

Hebrew (Biblical)

Jeremy Hutton, jmhutton@wisc.edu

Hebrew (Modern)

Laurie Silverberg, undergrad-adviser@cjs.wisc.edu

Hindi

Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu

Hmong

Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu

Indonesian

Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu

Italian

Grazia Menechella, frit.wisc.edu/undergraduate/italian/academic_advising

Japanese

Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu

Kazakh

Jennifer Tishler, jtishler@wisc.edu

Khmer

Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu

Korean

Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu

Byung-jin Lim, byungjin.lim@wisc.edu

Latin

Grant Nelsestuen, nelsestuen@wisc.edu

Norwegian

Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu

Ojibwe

Rand Valentine, rand.valentine@wisc.edu

Persian

Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu

Polish

Ewa Miernowska, miernows@wisc.edu

Portuguese

Karen Thompson, spanport.wisc.edu/undergraduate/advising

Quechua

Sarah Ripp, skripp@wisc.edu

Russian

Anna Tumarkin, atumarki@wisc.edu

Serbo-Croatian

Tomislav Longinovic, tlongino@wisc.edu

Spanish

Karen Thompson, spanport.wisc.edu/undergraduate/advising

Swahili

Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu

Swedish

Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu

Thai

Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu

Tibetan

Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu

Turkish

Jennifer Tischler, jtishler@wisc.edu

Urdu

Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu

Vietnamese

Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu

Wolof

Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu

Yoruba

Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu

Yucatec Maya

Sarah Ripp, skripp@wisc.edu

Zulu

Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu