Skip to main content
Home > Beyond the Classroom > Language Tables

Language Tables

A language conversation table offers the opportunity to practice the language with other speakers of the language.  Language tables are often held in a casual location, such as a coffee shop or the Union, and may include community members as well as university students and instructors.  Please see below for meeting times, locations, and contact information.

Language table details will be posted for the fall semester.

Language Conversation Table Details
Arabic

Every Monday and Wednesday by the fire place in Union South, 5:00-6:00 pm
Every Tuesday and Thursday in the Rathskellar of Memorial Union, 5:00-6:00 pm
Fridays in the atrium of the Law Building, 3:30-4:30
Contact Katrina Daly Thompson, kdthomp3@wisc.edu

 

 

Burmese

Fridays, 2:00-3:00 pm 
College Library
Contact: Ei Thin Zar, thinzar@wisc.edu 

Chinese

Fridays, 4:30-5:30 pm 
2613 Humanities
Contact claccuw@gmail.com

Danish

Rolling schedule
Contact Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu

Filipino

Tuesdays, 6 pm-7pm
Der Rathskeller (Memorial Union)
Contact Bridget Johnson, bejohnson8@wisc.edu

Finnish

Thursdays, 5:30 pm-6:30 pm
The Sett (Union South)
Contact Ilkka Posio - posio@wisc.edu

French

There are multiple opportunities to practice your French outside of the classroom, including meals at La Maison Française or 'Vin et Conversation' at downtown restaurants and cafes. Learn more: uwfrenchhouse.org

German

Wednesdays, 12:00-1:00 pm
Memorial Union, Lakefront on Langdon
Thursdays, 8:30 pm
Memorial Union, TITU
Learn more: german.lss.wisc.edu/new_web/?q=node/12

Hausa

TBA
Contact Katrina Daly Thompson, kdthomp3@wisc.edu

Hmong

Every other Wednesday, 7:00-9:00 pm
November 9, 16, 29. December 7
Humanities, signs will lead the way
Contact Choua Lee, lee2@wisc.edu

Indonesian

Wednesdays, 5:00-6:00 pm
Memorial Union, Lakefront on Langdon
Contact Wuri Kusumastuti, kusumastuti@wisc.edu

Italian

Caffè Culturale
Every other Friday from 1:30 - 3:30 pm at Memorial Union (check TITU for location)
Contact: Loren Eadie, loren.eadie@gmail.com 

Cineteca Italiana (Italian film screening)
Every Monday (starting Jan. 30), 7 pm 
Education L196
Contact Caitlin Schaer, cschaer@wisc.edu

Japanese

Fridays, 4:30 pm-6 pm
Memorial Union (please check the T.I.T.U. for room information upon arrival)
Contact Hae Ree Jun: hjun8@wisc.edu
Intermediate-level or higher students requested

Korean

Mondays, 4 pm-5 pm (February 1-April 25)
206 Ingraham
Levels offered: novice, intermediate-low, intermediate-high, & advanced
Contact Professor Byung-jin Lim, byungjin.lim@wisc.edu

Norwegian

Wednesdays, The Sett at Union South, 4:00-5:00 pm
Contact Peggy Hager, pehager@wisc.edu

Persian

Wednesdays, 3:45-4:45 pm
Memorial Union
Contact Sara Farsiu farsiu@wisc.edu

Polish

Select Mondays, 7pm, email Piotr Pulchalski to confirm Polish table will occur on a given Monday. 
Memorial Union 
Contact Piotr Puchalski, ppuchalski@wisc.edu

Portuguese

Thursdays, 4:30-6:30 pm
Kollege Klub, Lake and Langdon
Contact Ellen Sapega, ewsapega@wisc.edu

Russian

Thursdays, 6:00-8:00 pm
Barrique's Coffee Shop, 127 West Washington
Contact Sarah Bennett, scbennett@wisc.edu

Serbo-Croatian

First Thursday of every month, 5:00 pm
Memorial Union, Lakefront on Langdon
Contact Milan Simic, msimic@wisc.edu

Spanish

Tuesdays, 5:00-7:00 pm
Union South, The Sett (second floor)
Contact Steve Fondow, srfondow@wisc.edu

Swahili

Tuesdays at 6 pm near Prairie Fire in Union South; and Wednesdays at noon in Aldo's cafe in WID
Contact Katrina Daly Thompson, kdthomp3@wisc.edu

Swedish

Wednesdays, 5:30-6:30 pm
The Sett (Union South)
Contact Ben Hubbard - bshubbard@wisc.edu, or Jason Schroeder - jschroeder3@wisc.edu

Turkish

Wednesdays, 5-6pm
Union South
Contact Funda Derin, fderin@wisc.edu or Tugay Elmas, elmas@wisc.edu 

Wolof

Tuesdays from 10:50-11:50 in Liz's Market, the cafeteria in Elizabeth Waters Hall.

Yoruba

Tuesdays, at 6:30 pm around the fireplace in Union South
Contact Katrina Daly Thompson, kdthomp3@wisc.edu

Zulu

Wednesdays, 4:00-5:00 pm
Union south, Common area by the fireplace
Contact Katrina Daly Thompson, kdthomp3@wisc.edu