Advising

Advising at UW-Madison is a partnership between you and the network of advisors you build during your time here. It can be one of the most valuable resources available to you as a student. Advisors are here to introduce you to opportunities and help you make good decisions. Learn more: Advising at UW-Madison

Who should I talk to?

If you have questions related to a specific language program or a language major or certificate, you should meet with the advisor for that language. Language department advisors can help you with choose courses and identify academic and other opportunities related to your language.

You’ll also have an assigned academic advisor, depending on your School, College, or major department. You should be in regular contact with your assigned advisor during your entire time at UW-Madison.


Title Advising
Arabic Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Chinese Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Czech David Danaher, dsdanaher@wisc.edu
Danish Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu
Dutch Jolanda Vanderwal Taylor, jvtaylor@wisc.edu
Filipino Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Finnish Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu
French Andrew Irving, frit.wisc.edu/undergraduate/french/academic_advising
Ewa Miernowska, frit.wisc.edu/undergraduate/french/academic_advising
German Jeanne Schueller, jmschuel@wisc.edu
Greek (Ancient)

Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Nandini Pandey, nandini.pandey@wisc.edu
Hausa Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Hebrew (Biblical)

Jeremy Hutton, jmhutton@wisc.edu
Toni Landis, tlandis@wisc.edu
Hebrew (Modern) Judith Sone, undergrad-adviser@cjs.wisc.edu
Hindi Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Hmong Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu
Icelandic Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu
Indonesian Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Italian Jelena Todorović, jtodorovic@wisc.edu
Japanese Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Kazakh Jennifer Tishler, jtishler@creeca.wisc.edu
Khmer Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu
Korean Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Byung-jin Lim, byungjin.lim@wisc.edu
Latin Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Nandini Pandey, nandini.pandey@wisc.edu
Norwegian Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu
Ojibwe Rand Valentine, rand.valentine@wisc.edu
Persian Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Polish Ewa Miernowska, miernows@wisc.edu
Portuguese Karen Thompson, spanport.wisc.edu/undergrad-advising/
Quechua Sarah Ripp, skripp@wisc.edu
Russian Anna Tumarkin, atumarki@wisc.edu
Sanskrit Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Serbo-Croatian Tomislav Longinovic, tlongino@wisc.edu
Spanish Karen Thompson, spanport.wisc.edu/undergraduate/advising
Swahili Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Swedish Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu
Thai Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu
Tibetan Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Turkish Bridget Sutton, sutton4@wisc.edu
Urdu Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Vietnamese Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu
Wolof Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Yiddish
Yoruba Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Yucatec Maya Sarah Ripp, skripp@wisc.edu