Skip to main content
Home > Beyond the Classroom > Language Tables

Language Tables

A language conversation table offers the opportunity to practice the language with other speakers of the language.  Language tables are often held in a casual location, such as a coffee shop or the Union, and may include community members as well as university students and instructors.  Please see below for meeting times, locations, and contact information.

Language Conversation Table Details
Arabic

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 5-6 pm
Fireplace, Union South
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Chinese

Friday, 4:30-5:30 PM
Room 2619, 2615, and 2631, Humanities
Contact clacc@rso.wisc.edu

Danish

Wednesday, 6-7 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu 

Filipino

Friday, 5-6 pm 
Memorial Union
Contact Noemi Yutuc, pyutuc@wisc.edu or Kenneth Dizon, dizon2@wisc.edu

Finnish

Monday 1-2 pm
Aldo's Cafe, Discovery Building 
Contact Kristiina Jomppanen, jomppanen@wisc.edu

French

There are multiple opportunities to practice your French outside of the classroom, including meals at La Maison Française or 'Vin et Conversation' at downtown restaurants and cafes. Learn more: uwfrenchhouse.org

Hindi

Tuesday, 1-2 pm
Room 1220 or 1224, Van Hise Hall 
Rooms alternate by date - please contact Sarah for details
Contact Sarah Beckham, sbeckham@wisc.edu

Hmong

Tuesday, 5:00-6:30 pm
Room 159, Van Hise Hall
Contact Choua Lee, lee2@wisc.edu

Icelandic

Contact Susanne Arthur, sarthur@wisc.edu

Indonesian

Wednesday, 5:00-6:00 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Mailani Kamilah, kamilah@wisc.edu

Italian

Caffe' Culturale
Every other Wednesday, 5:45-6:30 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Loren Eadie, loren.eadie@gmail.com

Japanese

Friday, 4:30 - 6:00 pm
Room 206, Van Hise Hall
Contact Hae Ree Jun, hjun8@wisc.edu
*designed for intermediate or higher level students

Korean

Monday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm 
Room 206, Van Hise Hall 
Contact Mr. Sunghak Kim, skim593@wisc.edu

Norwegian

Contact Peggy Hager, pehager@wisc.edu

Polish

Every other Tuesday, 7-8pm
Email for location each week
Contact psa.madison.wi@gmail.com

Portuguese

Bate Papo
Thursday, 4:30-6:30pm
Kollege Klub
Contact Ellen Sapega, ewsapega@wisc.edu 

Russian

Contact Sarah Bennett, scarabcat@gmail.com

Serbo-Croatian

First Wednesday of the month, 5-6:30 pm
Lakeview Lounge, Memorial Union
Contact Dijana Mitrović, dmitrovic@wisc.edu

Spanish

La Mesa de Conversación
Tuesday, 5-7pm 
2nd floor (the Mezzanine) of The Sett in Union South 
Contact Steve Fondow, srfondow@wisc.edu

Swahili

Wednesday, 1-2 pm
Friday, 12-1 pm
Prairie Fireplace, Union South
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Swedish

Contact Ben Hubbard, bshubbard@wisc.edu or Jason Schroeder, jschroeder3@wisc.edu

Turkish

Every other Thursday, 5-6pm
Lakfront Window of Memorial Union
Contact Nalan Erbil, erbil@wisc.edu or Milan Simic, msimic@wisc.edu

Vietnamese

Wednesday, 1-2 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Tu Dang, tdang4@wisc.edu

Wolof

Monday, 7-8 pm
Upper level of Gordon's Dining 
Contact Toni Landis, tlandis@wisc.edu

Yoruba

Thursday, 5:30-6:30 pm
Room M379, Memorial Union 
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Zulu

Thursday, 6-7 pm
Union South
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu