Skip to main content

Languages at UW-Madison

Home > Beyond the Classroom > Language Tables

Language Tables

A language conversation table offers the opportunity to practice the language with other speakers of the language.  Language tables are often held in a casual location, such as a coffee shop or the Union, and may include community members as well as university students and instructors.  Please see below for meeting times, locations, and contact information.

Language Conversation Table Details
Arabic

Check back for fall times and locations. 

Chinese

Fall 2018 TBD

Danish

Wednesday, 6-7 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu 

Filipino

Fall 2018 TBD 

Finnish

Monday 1-2 pm
Aldo's Cafe, Discovery Building 
Contact Thomas Dubois, tadubois@wisc.edu

French

There are multiple opportunities to practice your French outside of the classroom, including meals at La Maison Française or 'Vin et Conversation' at downtown restaurants and cafes.
Learn more: Vin et Conversation Facebook Group 

German

Stammtisch, German Club sponsored German language practice table 
Meets alternate Tuesday evenings, 7:00pm in Der Stiftskeller Memorial Union 
Visit the German Club Facebook page for more information 
 

Hausa

Check back for fall times and locations. 

Hindi

Fall 2018 TBD 

Hmong

Tuesday, 5:00-6:30 pm
Room 159, Van Hise Hall
Contact Choua Lee, lee2@wisc.edu

Icelandic

Contact Susanne Arthur, sarthur@wisc.edu

Indonesian

Wednesday, 5:00-6:00 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Mailani Kamilah, kamilah@wisc.edu

Italian

Caffe' Culturale
Every other Wednesday, 5:45-6:30 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Loren Eadie, loren.eadie@gmail.com

Japanese

Friday, 4:30 - 6:00 pm
Room 206, Van Hise Hall
Contact Hae Ree Jun, hjun8@wisc.edu
*designed for intermediate or higher level students

Korean

Monday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm 
Room 206, Van Hise Hall 
Contact Mr. Sunghak Kim, skim593@wisc.edu

Norwegian

Contact Laura Moquin, laura.moquin@wisc.edu

Polish

Every other Tuesday, 7-8pm
Email for location each week
Contact psa.madison.wi@gmail.com

Portuguese

Bate Papo
Thursday, 4:30-6:30pm
Kollege Klub
Contact Ellen Sapega, ewsapega@wisc.edu 

Russian

Contact Sarah Bennett, scarabcat@gmail.com

Serbo-Croatian

First Wednesday of the month, 5-6:30 pm
Lakeview Lounge, Memorial Union
Contact Dijana Mitrović, dmitrovic@wisc.edu

Spanish

La Mesa de Conversación
Tuesday during the academic year, 5-7pm 
2nd floor (the Mezzanine) of The Sett in Union South 
Contact Steve Fondow, srfondow@wisc.edu

Swahili

Check back for fall times and locations. 

Swedish

Contact Susan Brantly, sbrantly@wisc.edu

Turkish

Every other Thursday, 5-6pm
Lakfront Window of Memorial Union
Contact Nalan Erbil, erbil@wisc.edu or Milan Simic, msimic@wisc.edu

Vietnamese

Wednesday, 1-2 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Tu Dang, tdang4@wisc.edu

Wolof

Check back for fall times and locations. 

Yoruba

Check back for fall times and locations. 

Zulu

Check back for fall times and locations.