Skip to main content
Home > Beyond the Classroom > Language Tables

Language Tables

A language conversation table offers the opportunity to practice the language with other speakers of the language.  Language tables are often held in a casual location, such as a coffee shop or the Union, and may include community members as well as university students and instructors.  Please see below for meeting times, locations, and contact information.

Language Conversation Table Details
Chinese

Please contact claccuw@gmail.com

Danish

Wednesday, 6-7 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu 

Filipino

Contact Bridget Johnson, bejohnson8@wisc.edu

Finnish

Wednesday 4:30-5:30 pm
Rathskellar, Memorial Union
Contact Kristiina Jomppanen, jomppanen@wisc.edu

French

There are multiple opportunities to practice your French outside of the classroom, including meals at La Maison Française or 'Vin et Conversation' at downtown restaurants and cafes. Learn more: uwfrenchhouse.org

Hmong

Contact Choua Lee, lee2@wisc.edu

Icelandic

Contact Susanne Arthur, sarthur@wisc.edu

Indonesian

Contact Wuri Kusumastuti, kusumastuti@wisc.edu

Japanese

Contact Hae Ree Jun: hjun8@wisc.edu

Korean

Contact Professor Byung-jin Lim, byungjin.lim@wisc.edu

Norwegian

Contact Peggy Hager, pehager@wisc.edu

Persian

Contact Sara Farsiu farsiu@wisc.edu

Polish

Contact Piotr Puchalski, ppuchalski@wisc.edu

Portuguese

Bate Papo
Thursday, 4:30-6:30pm
Kollege Klub
Contact Ellen Sapega, ewsapega@wisc.edu 

Russian

Contact Sarah Bennett, scbennett@wisc.edu

Serbo-Croatian

Contact Milan Simic, msimic@wisc.edu

Spanish

La Mesa de Conversación
Tuesday, 5-7pm 
2nd floor (the Mezzanine) of The Sett in Union South 
Contact Steve Fondow, srfondow@wisc.edu

Swedish

Contact Ben Hubbard, bshubbard@wisc.edu or Jason Schroeder, jschroeder3@wisc.edu

Turkish

Contact Funda Derin, fderin@wisc.edu or Tugay Elmas, elmas@wisc.edu