Skip to main content
Home > Beyond the Classroom > Language Tables

Language Tables

A language conversation table offers the opportunity to practice the language with other speakers of the language.  Language tables are often held in a casual location, such as a coffee shop or the Union, and may include community members as well as university students and instructors.  Please see below for meeting times, locations, and contact information.

Language Conversation Table Details
Arabic

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 5-6 pm
Tuesday 1-2 pm
Wednesday, Thursday 12:30 -1:30 pm 
Fireplace, Union South
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Chinese

Friday, 4:30-5:30 PM
Room 2619, 2615, and 2631, Humanities
Contact clacc@rso.wisc.edu

Danish

Wednesday, 6-7 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu 

Finnish

Wednesday 4:30-5:30 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Kristiina Jomppanen, jomppanen@wisc.edu

French

There are multiple opportunities to practice your French outside of the classroom, including meals at La Maison Française or 'Vin et Conversation' at downtown restaurants and cafes. Learn more: uwfrenchhouse.org

Hindi

Tuesday, 3:30 - 4:30 pm
Room 1220, Van Hise Hall
Contact Sarah Beckham, sbeckham@wisc.edu

Hmong

Thursday, 5:00-6:30 pm
Room 379, Van Hise Hall
Contact Choua Lee, lee2@wisc.edu

Icelandic

Contact Susanne Arthur, sarthur@wisc.edu

Indonesian

Wednesday, 5:00-6:00 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Mailani Kamilah, kamilah@wisc.edu

Italian

Caffe' Culturale
Every other Wednesday (beginning Oc. 4), 5:45-6:30 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Loren Eadie, loren.eadie@gmail.com

Japanese

Friday, 4:30 - 6:00 pm
Room 206, Van Hise Hall
Contact Hae Ree Jun, hjun8@wisc.edu
*designed for intermediate or higher level students

Korean

Monday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm 
Room 206, Van Hise Hall 
Contact Mr. Sunghak Kim, skim593@wisc.edu

Norwegian

Contact Peggy Hager, pehager@wisc.edu

Polish

Contact Piotr Puchalski, ppuchalski@wisc.edu

Portuguese

Bate Papo
Thursday, 4:30-6:30pm
Kollege Klub
Contact Ellen Sapega, ewsapega@wisc.edu 

Russian

Contact Sarah Bennett, scbennett@wisc.edu

Serbo-Croatian

Contact Milan Simic, msimic@wisc.edu

Spanish

La Mesa de Conversación
Tuesday, 5-7pm 
2nd floor (the Mezzanine) of The Sett in Union South 
Contact Steve Fondow, srfondow@wisc.edu

Swahili

Wednesday, 1-2 pm
Prairie Fireplace, Union South
Friday, 12-1 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union 
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Swedish

Contact Ben Hubbard, bshubbard@wisc.edu or Jason Schroeder, jschroeder3@wisc.edu

Turkish

Contact Nalan Erbil, erbil@wisc.edu or Milan Simic, msimic@wisc.edu

Vietnamese

Wednesday, 3:10 - 4:30 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Tu Dang, tdang4@wisc.edu

Yoruba

Thursday, 5:30-6:30 pm
Room M379, Memorial Union 
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu

Zulu

Thursday, 6-7 pm
Union South
Contact Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu