Skip to main content

Languages at UW-Madison

Home > Beyond the Classroom > Language Tables

Language Tables

A language conversation table offers the opportunity to practice the language with other speakers of the language.  Language tables are often held in a casual location, such as a coffee shop or the Union, and may include community members as well as university students and instructors.  Please see below for meeting times, locations, and contact information.

Language Conversation Table Details
Arabic

​Arabic table, Monday-Thursday, 5-6pm, Union South (near fireplace)

Chinese

Fall 2018 TBD

Danish

Wednesday, 6-7 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Nete Schmidt, aschmidt2@wisc.edu 

Dutch

Thursdays 7:30-8:30pm, Memorial Union, Stiftskeller/Rathskeller or nearby 

Contact info: jvtaylor@wisc.edu 

Filipino

Fall 2018 TBD 

Finnish

Monday 1-2 pm
Aldo's Cafe, Discovery Building 
Contact Thomas Dubois, tadubois@wisc.edu

French

Vin et Conversation meets Mondays at 6:30pm at Barrique's on West Washington (off the Square).  It is a French-speaking group for all levels.

German

Stammtisch, German Club sponsored German language practice table 
Meets alternate Tuesday evenings, 7:00pm in Der Stiftskeller Memorial Union 
Visit the German Club Facebook page for more information 
 

Hausa

Check back for fall times and locations. 

Hebrew (Modern)

Hebrew Language Table will meet Fridays 12-1pm in Humanities 4233.

Hindi

Fall 2018 TBD 

Hmong

Tuesday, 5:00-6:30 pm
Room 159, Van Hise Hall
Contact Choua Lee, lee2@wisc.edu

Icelandic

Contact Susanne Arthur, sarthur@wisc.edu

Indonesian

Wednesday, 5:00-6:00 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Mailani Kamilah, kamilah@wisc.edu

Italian

Caffe' Culturale
Every other Wednesday, 5:45-6:30 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Loren Eadie, loren.eadie@gmail.com

Japanese

Friday, 4:30 - 6:00 pm
Room 206, Van Hise Hall
Contact Hae Ree Jun, hjun8@wisc.edu
*designed for intermediate or higher level students

Korean

Wednesday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm 
Room 206, Van Hise Hall 
Contact Jaerin Ahn, ahn43@wisc.edu 

Norwegian

Contact Laura Moquin, laura.moquin@wisc.edu

Polish

Thursdays 5-7pm, Barrique's on W Washington (off the Square)

Contact Michelle Harasimowicz: mharasimowic@wisc.edu

Portuguese

Bate Papo
Thursday, 4:30-6:30pm
Kollege Klub
Contact Ellen Sapega, ewsapega@wisc.edu 

Russian

Contact Sarah Bennett, scarabcat@gmail.com

Serbo-Croatian

First Wednesday of the month, 5-6:30 pm
Lakeview Lounge, Memorial Union
Contact Dijana Mitrović, dmitrovic@wisc.edu

Spanish

La Mesa de Conversación
Tuesday during the academic year, 5-7pm 

Upper Sett, Union South 

Swahili

Swahili table, Mondays, 4-5pm, Union South (near Scoops)

Swedish

Contact Susan Brantly, sbrantly@wisc.edu

Turkish

Every other Thursday, 5-6pm
Lakfront Window of Memorial Union
Contact Nalan Erbil, erbil@wisc.edu or Milan Simic, msimic@wisc.edu

Vietnamese

Wednesday, 1-2 pm
Rathskeller, Memorial Union
Contact Tu Dang, tdang4@wisc.edu

Wolof

Wolof table, Tuesdays 1-2pm, Memorial Union (Lake Mendota room)​

Yoruba

Yoruba table, Tuesday 6-7pm, Memorial Union

Zulu

Zulu table, Mondays 12-1pm, Memorial Union