Advising

Advising at UW-Madison is a partnership between you and the network of advisors you build during your time here. It can be one of the most valuable resources available to you as a student. Advisors are here to introduce you to opportunities and help you make good decisions. Learn more: Advising at UW-Madison

Who should I talk to?

If you have questions related to a specific language program or a language major or certificate, you should meet with the advisor for that language. Language department advisors can help you with choose courses and identify academic and other opportunities related to your language.

You’ll also have an assigned academic advisor, depending on your School, College, or major department. You should be in regular contact with your assigned advisor during your entire time at UW-Madison.

Title Advising
Arabic Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Chinese Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Czech Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Danish Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Dutch Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Filipino Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Finnish Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
French Laura Linde Turnes, llinde@wisc.edu
German Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Greek (Ancient) Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Nandini Pandey, nandini.pandey@wisc.edu
Hausa Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Hebrew (Biblical) Jeremy Hutton, jmhutton@wisc.edu
Toni Landis, tlandis@wisc.edu
Hebrew (Modern) undergrad-adviser@cjs.wisc.edu
Hindi Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Hmong Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Icelandic Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Indonesian Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Italian Laura Linde Turnes, llinde@wisc.edu
Japanese Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Kazakh Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Khmer Michael Cullinane, mmcullin@wisc.edu
Korean Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Latin Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Grant Nelsestuen, nelsestuen@wisc.edu
Norwegian Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Ojibwe Rand Valentine, rand.valentine@wisc.edu
Persian Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Polish Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Portuguese Karen Francis, spanport.wisc.edu/undergrad-advising/
Quechua Sarah Ripp, skripp@wisc.edu
Russian Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Serbo-Croatian Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Spanish Karen Francis, spanport.wisc.edu/undergraduate/advising
Swahili Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Swedish Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Thai Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Tibetan Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Turkish Joanna Schuth, jschuth@wisc.edu 
Urdu Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Vietnamese Rachel Weiss, rweiss@wisc.edu
Wolof Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Yiddish Sunny Yudkoff, yudkoff@wisc.edu
Yoruba Toni Landis, tllandis@wisc.edu
Katrina Daly Thompson, katrina.daly.thompson@wisc.edu
Yucatec Maya Sarah Ripp, skripp@wisc.edu